question

space_x-half avatar image
1 Like"
space_x-half asked

Complaints about the LMS Documentation

I have been working with LMS for a few months. The info I have needed to do this has been very much "unnecessarily" difficult to find. Sure there are basic descriptions, and I have finally worked out most of the problems, but: 1. Samples only do a very basic job to do downloads and have none of the intricate steps involved to show how to do the basic Revision or AddItem upload and response type jobs. 2. Jobs fail while in process, and because of limitations (only one active job allowed) you must know or figure out how to get the job status, which statuses to get to determine that the job is still active, and retrieve the jobId, then learn how to abort a job. Really, this is a requirement, and should be included in a sample to make it easy to do or copy to add to your code. Server glitches happen all the time, and you can easily start a job, and have the upload or download fail. Rather than return an error, how about just removing the old job, if we try to issue another and the old one was already created and never processed? 3. To do LMS you must write and use two different ZIP formats? Really? One would not do the job? 4. There are no example XML Request or Response samples. We are left with digging to realize that we must use the Trading API samples. In the Trading API ReviseFixedItem input sample, there is one BDX Relist sample that may be found by accident at the bottom of the page. Why not a one-Item Revise sample, instead? They are not the same thing! 5. Why aren't such things documented in one easy to find place, rather than requiring developers to search for hours to find solutions? At least sample XML files and caveats? 6. You get an error complaining about an incorrect schema version stating incorrectly that version 347 is required, and no info even in a forum about it. Requiring one to hunt the Internet for hours to find that it is caused because the Ve