question

discmaster85 avatar image
0 Likes"
discmaster85 asked

Best way to check remaining quantity for a large number of items

I'm new to the ebay APIs so am still finding my way around. I am using findItemsByCategory to create a list of available items for users of my app and using GetItemStatus to check if the cached items are still available. However, I noticed there are many listings with quantities greater than one. Most importantly, and unexpectedly, if the quantity remaining is zero ebay still classifies the listing as live even though nobody can buy the item. It's not efficient to call GetSingleItem on everything, so anyone have a better solution to get the remaining quantity fora large number of items?

finditemsbycategorygetitemstatusgetsingleiem
10 |600

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

if you only check items of sellers your app is connected to, you should use GetSellerList, every page shows you 200 items. using the outputfilter you can only request the needed

fields, i.e. : Quantity, QuantitySold, ItemId

0 Likes 0 ·
This might work. I'll check the number of unique sellers but I fear it is just as many as the unique items. Thanks for the suggestion and please let me know if anything else comes to mind!
0 Likes 0 ·
another idea is, to rethink the whole process. instead of checking which item no longer has quantity, you can use ebays notifications to increase quantity after every buy to keep an item alive forever. this is a common practice as long you have enough in stock. managing stock does not necessarily mean you have to use "real" quantity in your items :)
0 Likes 0 ·
helios825 avatar image
0 Likes"
helios825 answered

GetItemStatus should be able to handle up to 20 items in a singular request. Do you need more than that?

10 |600

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 512.0 KiB each and 1.0 MiB total.

discmaster85 avatar image
0 Likes"